The Second Year

Matthew 5:14-16 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Lord let me be a light for others to see! Help me to be patient, to remember what you have done in my past as a testimony to your faithfulness to my future. Help me to be patient – and full of passion 3 months into the Second Year here.

I almost forget sometimes. 8 years ago we moved to Florida for three reasons I could not see.

#1 To spend the last year with my dad during his time on earth – it was a rich blessing and I thank God for it often.

#2 So that my wife and I could be parents….each of my children’s stories are amazing, I get so excited and so full of joy when recounting all of the moments that make up who we are (we as a fam) today.

#3 To serve Christ through the church. We are in the 3rd month of the 2nd year (6 years prior being discipled, groomed, equipped, challenged, etc. ) and like always…I can only see one step at a time.

 There is more to life than what you see. In fact, many things of greater value ( than what we would be able to place visible/tangible/material value on…) cannot be seen with our eyes. So, be patient.

  1. Be patient with things you plant and cultivate in people’s lives.
  2. Be patient enjoying the time you have to invest in and be invested in with regard to others.
  3. Be patient with what you’ve been given; your family, your friends…the fruit of what you have cultivated

4. And be patient with His Bride, the church, Jesus loves His Bride!

(Song of Songs 2 “…Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land….” And Ephesians 5 “…Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word…)                                                                                                                       

image

I planted this vine about 6 months ago from a clipping I took in an over-wooded lot. It was about 2 inches tall and I didn’t really know where to put it, so I stuck it next to our mailbox so my son could watch it grow. He’s all into butterflies and this thing attracts them like crazy- along with caterpillars and their cocoons. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment